Convocation Attunement

Allan's picture

Could someone run me throught an example of a mage gaining attunement to the different convocations. I have looked at the rules, and after the study period the mage enters the game with the primary. Without use of a jorum mechanic, does he/she have to spend another x hours studing Arcane Discipline to be able to use spells from a new convocaton. Or is it just a matter of learning new spells in the different convocation???


ken's picture

A Shek-Pvar is attuned to a convocational "element" during the first three years of study. There is no further need for attunement. This simply sets the character's relationship with the various convocational principles and helps to determine how difficult certain types of spells are going to be for the character. An brand new Peleahn mage can learn and cast an Odivshe spell straight out of the box provided he had some method of learning the spell and (due to his likely skill level and the difficulty of casting an oppositional spell) got extremely lucky.

In short a mage attunes as an apprentice and then if they work really really hard and have the necessary talent, they might be able to "unattune" thereby becoming a grey mage.

TheAncientOne's picture learn how to wrap his mind around the concept of "Magick" which, after all, is the suspension of the "Laws of Physics".

Of course most people living on Harn (or anywhere on Kethira, for that matter) have no concept of "Science" let alone "Physics". So "Magick" for them is as valid a concept as "Physics" and culturally more understandable. To a certain extent we are translating their world/mindset into 20th century scientific thought.

...And what does this have to do with the price of tea in China???

The assumption is that attunement allows quicker results then learning all magic theory at the same time (presumeably what the Sindarin do). The trouble is that it limits your view of magical theory for the long haul. Since Humans have a (somewhat) limited lifespan this (usually) works out as a net positive, since they will never have the time to master all the convocations...


If your character can find someone to teach him a spell from a different convocation; you should probably increase the time it takes to learn the spell since he(r) will have to wrap their head around some new concepts. I usually require 2x normal time to learn a spell from a "Secondary" convocation; 3x normal time to learn a spell from a "Tertiary" convocation; etc.

Once (if ever) a person has learned a spell from each of the convocations, he is eligible to become a "Grey Mage". Once he has attained that lofty position, all further spells can be learn at the same rate as he used to learn his primary convocation spells.

Wordy as usual,
The Ancient One
The man who WOULD NOT be king.

Jack's picture

Naturally I don't have my books handy and can't find a page number to reference, but . . .

I seem to recall a piece of text that indicated that an apprentice Shek-Pvar (a Mavari, IIRC) was taught to allow a little bit of the essence of his convocation to reside within his Aura - a process called attunement. I further seem to recall that the text went on to say that as the Shek-Pvar tried to master a new convocation (having received the appropriate permissions, of course), he learned to allow a little bit of the essence of the new convocation to reside in his Aura with the little bit of essence from his old convocation. And so on around the wheel until he attuned to them all and then tried to "un-attune" and become a Grey Mage. I also remember that the Shek-Pvar was required to go around the wheel in order and had to learn his opposing convocation last. Therefore, the Peleahn in the example above could not learn an Odivshe spell, no matter how lucky his rolls might be, until he'd put in a lot of work with the intervening four convocations.

Of course, I could be misremembering. However, if I were GM'ing, I'd do it the way I described above regardless of the exact rules. Why? Because the entire foundation of the Shek-Pvar approach to learning is that knowledge must be EARNED.

Just my two pence . . .


Old style heraldry: Sable, the pale argent.

New style heraldry: Oreo, resting on edge.

ken's picture

What you're remembering is from an older publication. Of course your free to use whatever rules you like, but the current publication (HarnMaster Gold: Shek-Pvar) doesn't have those same requirements.

Yes, knowledge must be earned. I wouldn't say that's the foundation of the Shek-Pvar really (maybe the Save'-K'norrians), but that's beside the point. HarnMaster Gold:Shek-Pvar treats every spell as a seperate skill. These have to be trained up individually and to do so necessarily involves risk. Nothing's being given away for free here. In addition, there are social and institutional rules limiting the chance of a mage from one convocation learning the spells of another. Lastly, the added difficulty of understanding and casting a spell from another (let alone an opposing) convocation is generated due to the differing "world-view" that's required to maintain a proper form.

For a mage to be so widely respected that a chantry or individual of an opposing convocation would aid him or her in learning such a spell indicates a very high degree of competency and power. For this Peleahn mage to acquire and learn an Odivsh spell, REALISTICALLY requires him to earn the knowledge.